-U. S. Government Officials

Last updated September 29, 1999

Executive Branch Legislative Branch Judicial Branch


President of the United States of America: William Jefferson ("Bill") Clinton The White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., Washington DC 20500 Phone: 1-202-456-1414 Comment Line: 1-202-456-1111 Web site: <http://www.whitehouse.gov> e-mail: <president@whitehouse.gov>

The First Lady, Hillary Rodham Clinton, also has a home page and e-mail.

For information on previous Presidents, Vice Presidents, and First Ladies, good online sources include the White House's own history pages, the Internet Public Library, Encyclopedia Americana , and the National Archives' links to Presidential Libraries. The Library of Congress has a gallery of portraits of Presidents and First Ladies.

Article II of the Constitution is the basic Federal law pertaining to the Presidency and the Executive Branch of the Government.

Vice-President of the United States: Albert Arnold ("Al") Gore, Jr. Web site: <http://www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/OVP/index.html> His e-mail address: <vice.president@whitehouse.gov> The Vice President is also President of the Senate. There is also a White House web site and e-mail address for Mrs. Gore.

Click here for more on the order of succession to the Presidency.

The terms of office of the President and theVice President end at noon, January 20, 2001. (See U.S. Constitution, Amendment XX, section 1.)

CABINET MEMBERS* -- Heads of Executive Departments and their departments' web sites

*ORDER OF SUCCESSION: Amendment XXV of the United States Constitution states that, "In case of the removal of the President from office or his death or resignation, the Vice President shall become President", and then provides for naming a new Vice President. The United States Code, Title 3, Section 19, as amended, says that should both the President and Vice President die, resign or become otherwise unable to hold office, the next-in-line is the Speaker of the House, then the President Pro-Tempore of the Senate, then the members of the Cabinet in the above order (which is the order in which their departments were founded). Anyone who succeeds to the office of the Presidency must meet the qualifications for President listed in Article II of the Constitution. Thus, Secretary of State Madeline Albright, who was born in Czechoslovakia, cannot become President because she is not a native-born citizen, though normally she would be fourth in line. Instead the Secretary of the Treasury becomes fourth in line.

Each President, at his own discretion, selects other agencies to be considered Cabinet level during his term of office. Thus the following officials are considered members of President Clinton's cabinet, but are not in the line of succession.

The following are other important people in the Executive Branch who are not considered Cabinet-level:

For even more Executive Department listings, check the White House page for White House Offices and Agencies, or the Library of Congress' listing of Executive Department sites.

Legislative Branch (Congress)

Judicial Branch (Supreme Court)

Back to Main List of Government-related links

Back to Mary H. Weir Public Library Reference Department page

Back to MHWPL home page